Biography

A CAPTIVATING VOCAL TRIO

            Caléro is three experimented vocalists who developed their talent following a very different artistic path. Magic happens when the tenor Daniel-S. Côté and Jacob Roberge meet the baritone Denis Lamontagne, to offer a seamless acoustic harmony. With the melody of musicals, classical and popular singing, the versatility of the trio allows them to perform and six languages. Thanks to the unique musical arrangements, each musical piece has been worked to bring out the qualities of each voice. These powerful melodies will touch you emotionally, offering a unique convivial experience. Following the release of their first album at the Palais Montcalm on November 2017, Caléro has started performing in front of different audiences, generating an enthusiastic reaction at every encounter. The audience is charmed by the energy and the sensibility that the trio emits. Caléro holds the keys to move and captivate their audience.

Daniel-S, Côté

The renaissance of a passion

              Daniel holds a wide experience in stage arts. From a very young age, he participates in many singing contests in the Quebec region. At 17 years old, he directs his own choir before being admitted as a tenor for the prestigious Troupe V'là l'Bon Vent. Within the Troupe, his voice matures and he learns to dance and move on stage. Daniel also participates in many projects as a chorister, as well as two music videos with Celine Dion, and a performance with the group Foreigner. Over time, he has performed in hundreds of shows in Quebec and Ontario with the Troupe V'là l'Bon Vent. After an 18 year hiatus where he discovers and perfects his abilities in visual arts, he returns to music by producing an exclusive show. He then returns to his roots as a chorister and set designer for the Troupe V'là l'Bon Vent. These recent years, he participates in the montage and the staging of five plays of the vocal ensemble, presented at the Salle Albert Rousseau of Quebec, at the Imperial Bell and the Centre d'Art la Chapelle. Desiring bettering his vocal technique, Daniel pursued improvement with Madame Cécile Bédard, a professor of classical music in Quebec. He then meets two of her students, Denis and Jacob. The classical and popular vocal trio now takes form.

Jacob Roberge

Music in all its forms

               Jacob has been immersed in music since he was a child. He starts his first singing class at the age of 10 and starts playing the piano at 12 years old. He then knows that his life will be centered around music. Jacob has trained for many years in classical singing (tenor), musical theory, musical dictation and musical literature. Touching every aspect, he is a composer of many different styles of music, as well as being a multi-instrumentalist (piano, guitar, electric bass, bouzouki drums, ukulele). During these recent years, Jacob has been part of the Choeur de l'Opera of Quebec as a countertenor and can be heard as a soloist and duo in the concerts of the class of Madame Cécile Bédard. He also obtained the role as Kurt in the musical La Mélodie du Bonheur presented in Quebec and plays the lead within two operettas at college level. Even as the youngest, Jacob completes the vocal trio marvelously thanks to his varied musical aptitudes. He assumes Caléro's vocal and instrumental arrangements with brilliance.

Denis Lamontagne

From radio to stage

            It's when hearing a song by Bruno Pelletier on the radio that Denis felt the strong urge to develop his voice. He then meets Madame Cécile Bédard, vocal professor in Quebec. It's 1999. If the first meeting was difficult, the work and perseverance allow Denis to devellop a great potential. To this day, he has been produced in some thirty concerts under the direction of Madame Bédard. He can also be heard in the operetta Les 3 Mousquetaires and in the parody, Les Arpents Verts, created by Vincent Coulombe and the production, A Fiddler on the Roof in the role of Tevye the Dairyman. Thus, from parodies to operettas and classical singing, Denis has developed over the years a versatility that makes him a powerful baritone. Driven by his passion for popular and classical singing, he joins Daniel and Jacob in 2016 to form the vocal trio Caléro.

en_USEnglish
fr_CAFrench en_USEnglish

Biographie

UN TRIO VOCAL CAPTIVANT

           Caléro, c’est trois chanteurs expérimentés qui ont développé leur talent suite à des parcours artistiques fort différents. Une magie s’opère en effet lorsque les ténors Daniel-S. Côté et Jacob Roberge ainsi que le baryton Denis Lamontagne s’unissent afin d’offrir un environnement sonore des plus harmonieux. Airs de comédie musicale, chants classiques et populaires, la versatilité du trio lui permet aussi des interprétations dans six langues. Grâce à des arrangements musicaux uniques, chacune des pièces proposées a été retravaillée pour mettre en valeur la voix de chacun. Ces mélodies grandioses touchent les personnes au niveau émotionnel, proposant une expérience sonore unique et chaleureuse. Suite au lancement de leur premier album au Palais Montcalm en novembre 2017, Caléro a commencé à se produire devant différents publics, suscitant une réaction enthousiaste à chaque rendez-vous. L’auditoire est en effet séduit par l’énergie et la sensibilité qui se dégagent du trio. Caléro possède assurément toutes les cordes pour émouvoir et captiver son auditoire.

Daniel-S, Côté

La renaissance d’une passion

              Daniel possède une grande expérience en arts de la scène. Dès son tout jeune âge, il participe à plusieurs concours de chant dans la région de Québec. À 17 ans, il dirige son premier choeur avant d’être admis comme ténor dans la prestigieuse Troupe V’là l’Bon Vent. Au sein de la Troupe, sa voix prend de la maturité et il apprend à danser et bouger sur scène. Daniel a également participé à plusieurs projets en tant que choriste, dont deux vidéos avec Céline Dion ainsi qu’une prestation avec le groupe Foreigner. Au fil du temps, il a donné plus d’une centaine de spectacles au Québec et en Ontario avec la Troupe V’là l’Bon Vent. Après une pause de 18 ans où il découvre et perfectionne ses habiletés en art visuel, il revient à la chanson en produisant un spectacle privé. Il retourne alors à ses anciennes amours en tant que choriste et créateur des décors pour la Troupe V’là l’Bon vent. Au cours des dernières années, il a participé au montage et à la mise en scène de cinq spectacles de l’ensemble vocal présentés à la Salle Albert Rousseau de Québec, à l’Impérial Bell et au Centre d’Art la Chapelle. Désirant améliorer sa technique vocale, Daniel a poursuivi son perfectionnement auprès de madame Cécile Bédard, professeure de chant classique à Québec. Il fait alors la rencontre de deux élèves de Mme Bédard, soit Denis et Jacob. Le trio vocal classique et populaire Caléro prend forme.

Jacob Roberge

La musique sous toutes ses formes

              Jacob est littéralement tombé dans la marmite musicale lorsqu’il était enfant. Il suit ses premiers cours de chant à l’âge de 10 ans et commence à apprendre le piano à 12 ans. Il sait alors que sa vie sera étroitement liée à la musique. Jacob a une formation de plusieurs années en chant classique (ténor), solfège, dictée musicale et littérature musicale. Véritable touche à tout, il est compositeur de musique de styles variés en plus d’être multi-instrumentiste (piano, guitare, basse électrique, batterie bouzouki, ukulélé). Au cours des dernières années, Jacob a fait notamment partie du Choeur de l’opéra de Québec en tant que contre-ténor tout en étant entendu comme soliste et en duo dans les concerts de la classe de madame Cécile Bédard. Il a également tenu le rôle de Kurt dans la comédie musicale La Mélodie du bonheur présentée à Québec et a joué le rôle principal au sein de deux opérettes au niveau collégial. Bien qu’il soit le benjamin, Jacob complète le trio vocal à merveille grâce à ses aptitudes musicales très variées. Il assume d’ailleurs avec brio les arrangements vocaux et instrumentaux de Caléro.

Denis Lamontagne

De la radio à la scène

            C ’est en entendant une chanson de Bruno Pelletier à la radio que Denis a ressenti le profond désir de développer sa voix. Il fait alors la rencontre de madame Cécile Bédard, professeure de chant de Québec. Nous sommes en 1999. Si la première rencontre a été difficile, le travail et la persévérance ont permis de développer le grand potentiel de Denis. À ce jour, il s’est produit au sein d’une trentaine de concerts sous la direction de madame Bédard. Il a notamment été entendu dans l’opérette Les 3 mousquetaires, dans la parodie Les Arpents verts créée par Vincent Coulombe et dans la production Un violon sur le toit dans le rôle de Tevye à la Maison Jaune. Ainsi, de la parodie à l’opérette en passant par le chant classique, Denis a développé au fil du temps une polyvalence qui fait de lui un solide baryton. Conduit par sa passion pour le chant populaire et classique, il rejoint Daniel et Jacob en 2016 pour former le trio vocal Caléro.

fr_CAFrench (Canada)
en_USEnglish fr_CAFrench (Canada)